Manchester United defender, Luke Shaw, has claimed that referee Stuart Attwell admitted that Callum Hudson-Odoi’s handball was a penalty.
Shaw reacted angrily after Attwell decided not to award a spot-kick during their 0-0 draw with Chelsea on Sunday.
Hudson-Odoi touched the ball with his hand in the penalty area while fighting with Mason Greenwood for possession during the first half.
However, after consulting with VAR, Attwell determined that the contact was not grounds for a penalty, to the chagrin of the visitors.
Shaw has now claimed United captain, Harry Maguire, was told the kick should have been given.
“If it’s not going to be a penalty, l don’t think they needed to stop the game,” he said to Sky Sports after the game.
“The ref even said to H [Harry Maguire] that if I say it is a penalty, then it is going to cause a lot of talks afterwards. He got told it was a penalty.
I’m not going to moan about it because l don’t think either team did enough to win.”